News BitePolitics

Presidency Keeps Mum On Non-replacement Of Amaechi, Akpabio, Others

June 12 saga won’t repeat — Presidency
Share this post

The Presidency has failed to react to the non-replacement of ministers who resigned their appointments to contest the presidential primaries of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Applesbite reports that President Muhammadu Buhari has failed to replace the ministers thirty-nine days after their resignation from his cabinet.

Recall that six ministers had resigned to contest for primaries of the APC, following a directive from the President in line with the Electoral Act 2022.

Buhari while speaking at a valedictory session for the ministers held on May 13 at the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa, Abuja, said their replacement will be made without delay.

The President had said that the business of governance would not suffer as their departure had created a vacuum that should be filled.

They are former ministers of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio; Science, Technology and Innovation, Ogbonnaya Onu; Minister of State, Mines and Steel Development, Uche Ogah, Minister of State, Education, Emeka Nwajiuba and Minister of State for Niger Delta Affairs, Tayo Alasoadura.

However, despite the President’s pledge to quickly replace the former ministers, the Nigerian leader is yet to make nominations to fill the vacant slots.

As of the time of filing this report, the Presidency has failed to respond to the delay of the reappointments.

Image courtesy of Akinshola Lucky Akintelure - ApplesBite International Magazine
+ posts

Akinshola Akintelure is a Content Writer, a tech savvy and Social Media Manager.

Share this post