News BitePolitics

Tinubu: Defeated APC Presidential Aspirants Shun Strategic Abuja Meeting

Tinubu: Defeated APC Presidential Aspirants Shun Strategic Abuja Meeting
Share this post

Former presidential aspirants of the All Progressive Congress (APC), on Wednesday, shunned the strategic meeting scheduled in Abuja.
Applesbite reports that the meeting was postponed a few hours before its commencement due to the non-commitment of aspirants who has indicated that they would be available.

One of the aspirants, Nichola Felix, in a statement on Monday, said the meeting was aimed at brainstorming and adopting winning strategies to support the party’s flagbearer, Bola Tinubu.

Felix, who had announced the postponement of the meeting stated that a new date would be announced, he, however, did not give reasons for the cancellation of the meeting.

The statement read: “Please be informed that the strategic meeting of 2023 Presidential Aspirants of the All Progressives Congress, scheduled to hold on Wednesday the 31st of August has been postponed.

2023: ‘Going Through Church Is Not The Right Path’- Okowa Cautions Obi

“A new date for the meeting will be communicated soon. Apologies for any inconvenience(s) that this might cause.

“We will also brainstorm on adopting winning campaign strategies to support our standard-bearer, Bola Tinubu, and seek to carry every Nigerian along in our bid to coast home to victory in the 2023 general elections.”

This publication gathered that the aborted meeting also sought to address a number of factors such as reconciling aggrieved members, challenges bedeviling the country and inclusive politics.

Among those expected were Vice President Yemi Osinbajo; former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; former Science and Technology Minister, Ogbonnaya Onu; former Minister of State for Education, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba and former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio.

Five serving governors, namely Yahaya Bello (Kogi), Dave Umahi (Ebonyi), Abubakar Badaru (Jigawa), Ben Ayade (Cross River) and Kayode Fayemi (Ekiti) were also expected.

Others were the President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan; former Ogun State governor and serving senator, Ibikunle Amosun; a serving senator, Ajayi Boroffice; former Zamfara governor, Ahmad Sani; former Imo State governor and serving senator, Rochas Okorocha; a former Senate President, Ken Nnamani, a former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Dimeji Bankole; fiery cleric, Tunde Bakare; Pastor and Businessman, Dr Nicolas Felix; former Information Minister, Ikeobasi Mokelu; Businessman, Tein Jack-Rich and the only female among them, Uju Ken-Ohanenye.

Image courtesy of Akinshola Lucky Akintelure - ApplesBite International Magazine
+ posts

Akinshola Akintelure is a Content Writer, a tech savvy and Social Media Manager.

Share this post

Comment here