SportsNews Bite

FIFA Confirms 16 Cities To Host 2026 World Cup

FIFA Confirms 16 Cities To Host 2026 World Cup
Share this post

Amidst preparation for the 2022 World competition in Qatar, FIFA has released hosts cities for the 2026 World Cup games.
The update released by the football governing body shows that the 2026 games would be co-hosted by three countries including the United States, Canada, and Mexico.

The list of host cities was revealed in a ceremony in New York on Thursday.

Sixteen cities across the three countries were approved to host the largest World Cup ever with 48 teams, expanding from its current format of 32.

The US has Kansas City, Dallas, Atlanta, Houston, New York/New Jersey, Boston, Seattle, Philadelphia, Miami, San Francisco, and Los Angeles.

While Mexico has Guadalajara, Monterrey, and Mexico City, Canada will be represented by just two cities, Toronto and Vancouver.

Below is the list of the co-host cities as confirmed on FIFA’s official Twitter page.

Kansas City
Los Angeles
Mexico City
New York / New Jersey
San Francisco Bay Area

Meanwhile, Nigerian footballer and Super Eagles captain, Ahmed Musa has shared the same sentiments with the coach about winning the AFCON next year.

Recall that Nigeria could not qualify for the 2022 World Cup. Speaking, however, at the press conference, the captain said himself and the players are ready to achieve the goal of the new manager.

He said, “His first speak with the players is to win the AFCON. With what he came in and if we continue doing what he wants us to do, we will achieve the goals he set for us [sic]

“We’ve played three games under him and we are very quick to understand what he wants us to play.

He promised Nigeria a better game with the good pitch in Morocco. “As you can see, we have a good pitch here and we will see a different Super Eagles”.

Image courtesy of Akinshola Lucky Akintelure - ApplesBite International Magazine
+ posts

Akinshola Akintelure is a Content Writer, a tech savvy and Social Media Manager.

Share this post