InternationalNews Bite

UN Human Rights Council: Kuwait Elected As New Member

Share this post

The UN General Assembly on Tuesday elected Kuwait as one of 15 new members of the Human Rights Council.

The council, the membership of which consists of 47 countries elected by secret ballot, is responsible for upholding and advancing fundamental freedoms around the world.

Kuwait joins Albania, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burundi, China, Cote d’Ivoire, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, France, Ghana, Indonesia, Japan, Malawi and the Netherlands as new members who will for three years beginning on Jan. 1.

China, Cote d’Ivoire, Cuba, France and Malawi were reelected for second terms. Russia and Peru failed to receive receive enough votes to gain membership.

Image courtesy of Madukwe Nwabuisi - ApplesBite International Magazine
+ posts

Madukwe B. Nwabuisi is an accomplished journalist renown for his fearless reporting style and extensive expertise in the field. He is an investigative journalist, who has established himself as a kamikaze reporter.

Share this post