2023 Ballon d’Or: Messi Wins Eighth Award

Share this post

Inter Miami player, Lionel Messi has won the 2023 Ballon d’Or awards.

With the current feat, the Argentine player has won a total of eight Ballon d’Or awards.

He clinched the award in 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2016, 2019, 2021.

On this year’s shortlist, which is based on performances over the season, rather than a calendar year, is an array of quality players.

The Premier League dominates the list with 14 players of the 30.

Messi is the strong favourite to win his eighth Ballon d’Or after his heroics for his nation in the World Cup.

Messi won the award on Monday night against Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Erling Haaland (Manchester City), Martin Odegaard (Arsenal), Victor Osimhen (Napoli), and Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona); amongst many other male nominees.

See the list of Ballon d’Or 2023 nominees (Male) below:

Josko Gvardiol
Andre Onana
Karim Benzema
Mohamed Salah
Jamal Musiala
Bukayo Saka
Randal Kolo Muani
Jude Bellingham
Kevin De Bruyne
Bernardo Silva
Khvicha Kvaratskhelia
Emiliano Martinez
Ruben Dias
Nicolo Barella
Erling Haaland
Martin Odegaard
Ilkay Gundogan
Yassine Bounou
Julian Alvarez
Vinicius Jr
Lionel Messi (Winner)
Antoine Griezmann
Lautaro Martinez
Robert Lewandowski
Kim Min-Jae
Luka Modric
Kylian Mbappe
Victor Osimhen
Harry Kane

Image courtesy of Ajisafe A.O
+ posts

Madukwe B. Nwabuisi is an accomplished journalist renown for his fearless reporting style and extensive expertise in the field. He is an investigative journalist, who has established himself as a kamikaze reporter.

Share this post